Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

June 28, 2011

Governor Quinn Announces Federal Assistance Approved for Wabash County
Federal Disaster Declaration Will Help People, Businesses Recover from Storms and Flooding

SPRINGFIELD – June 28, 2011. Governor Pat Quinn today announced that the federal government approved the state’s request for a federal disaster declaration to help people and businesses in Wabash County recover from recent flooding and severe storms. The declaration will allow people and businesses in Wabash County to apply for federal disaster assistance, including grants and low-interest loans.

Earlier this month, 14 southern Illinois counties were approved for federal disaster assistance to people and businesses. Those counties include Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hardin, Jackson, Lawrence, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, White and Williamson.

“This assistance is an important step on the road to recovery,” said Governor Quinn. “We are going to continue doing all we can to help those impacted by flooding to rebuild and recover.”

A damage assessment conducted last week in Wabash County found two mobile homes that were destroyed by a tornado on April 19 and one that sustained minor damage from flooding that affected much of southern Illinois in late April and early May. Local officials reported that many other homes were also damaged by the storms and flooding.

The federal disaster declaration makes assistance available to flood and storm victims, including grants to individuals and households to help with temporary housing, home repairs or replacement and other disaster-related expenses, as well as low-interest U.S. Small Business Administration loans to residents and businesses.

“We will begin working immediately with FEMA to ensure flood victims in Wabash County receive the help they need as quickly as possible,” said Illinois Emergency Management Agency Director Jonathon Monken.

FEMA, which administers the federal assistance program, has a toll-free telephone number, 800-621-FEMA (3362) or 800-462-7585 (TTY for hearing and speech impaired), for victims to apply for assistance. Registration can also be completed online at www.disasterassistance.gov.

Additional information about the state’s storm response efforts is available at www.Ready.Illinois.gov.


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us