Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

April 5, 2011

ICJIA Announces Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant Program Awards for Law Enforcement Vehicles
Police agencies in 31 Illinois counties to receive funding

CHICAGO—Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority (ICJIA) Executive Director Jack Cutrone today announced recipients of federal fiscal year 2007 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant awards for law enforcement vehicles.

ICJIA designated more than $810,000 to 42 local law enforcement agencies that demonstrated financial and vehicle needs. A maximum of $20,000 was awarded to each agency, and 75 percent of the funds were designated to departments within communities that had populations of less than 25,000.

“Aging vehicles with increasing maintenance needs are often out for service, significantly impacting public safety, especially in rural areas,” said Director Cutrone. “We are pleased to support local police departments that are hard-pressed to find money for new vehicles during these tight economic times.”

More than 300 agencies from across the state requested funding. Submissions were evaluated and scored based on a formula to determine regional financial need and each agency’s demonstration of equipment need. Agencies awarded will be required to provide a 25 percent cash match from non-federal sources.

Vehicle grant award recipients include:

Broadview Police Department                        $20,000
Brooklyn Police Department                          $20,000
Buffalo Police Department                             $20,000
Carrol County Sheriff’s Department              $20,000
Christian County Sheriff’s Department          $20,000
Clinton Police Department                             $20,000
Coles County Sheriff’s Department               $15,830
DeKalb Police Department                             $20,000
East Alton Police Department                        $18,507
East Moline Police Department                      $20,000
Forreston Police Department                          $20,000
Glenwood Police Department                        $20,000
Hardin County Sheriff’s Department              $15,895
Harrisburg Police Department                        $15,894
Harwood Heights Police Department             $20,000
Henry Police Department                               $20,000
Macomb Police Department                           $18,847
Manteno Police Department                           $19,875
Marion County Sheriff’s Department             $16,208
Millstadt Police Department                           $20,000
Minonk Police Department                             $15,501
Mounds Police Department                            $20,000
Oregon Police Department                             $17,315
Pana Police Department                                  $20,000
Village of Park Forest                                     $20,000
Paxton Police Department                              $20,000
City of Pekin                                                   $19,608
Piatt County Sheriff's Office                          $15,562
Pontiac Police Department                             $19,216
Pulaski County Sheriff's Department             $20,000
Randolph County Sheriff’s Department        $20,000
Robinson Police Department                          $18,404
City of Rock Island                                        $20,000
Shelbyville Police Department                        $20,000
Staunton Police Department                           $16,500
Stone Park Police Department                        $16,282
Summit Police Department                             $20,000
Taylorville Police Department                        $20,000
Villa Park Police Department                         $20,000
Washington Park Police Department              $20,000
Wayne County Sheriff’s Department              $20,000
Williamson County Sheriff’s Department      $19,500

ICJIA is dedicated to improving the administration of criminal justice with work in the areas of grants administration, research and analysis, policy and planning, and information systems and technology. ICJIA is coordinating a collaborative, statewide strategic planning process to formulate criminal justice policy, research, and funding direction for the next several years. Visit www.icjia.state.il.us for more information.



News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us