Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

January 17, 2011

Miss Henry County Crowned 2011 Miss Illinois County Fair
Jackie Driscoll will reign over 2011 Illinois and DuQuoin State Fairs

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. – The Illinois Association of Agricultural Fairs (IAAF) crowned Jackie Driscoll, Miss Henry County Fair, the 2011 Miss Illinois County Fair Queen Sunday evening.  The Miss Illinois County Fair Queen Pageant was held at the Crowne Plaza in Springfield as part of the 101st annual convention of the IAAF.

Jackie of Cambridge is the daughter of Mike and Laurie Driscoll and Jamie and Gene Lang.  The twenty-year-old attends Monmouth College where she is majoring in history for secondary education.

“I want to congratulate Miss Driscoll on being crowned the 2011 queen – the first ever from Henry County,” State Ag Director Tom Jennings said.  “I also want to congratulate the other individuals who participated in this year’s pageant, as they are all intelligent, talented young ladies who have represented their counties very well.”

As Illinois County Fair Queen, Jackie will reign over the 2011 Illinois State Fair, Aug. 12-21, and the DuQuoin State Fair, Aug. 26-Sept. 5.

“This is so unexpected.  It's amazing.  I'm still waiting to wake up,” Driscoll said.  “I can't wait to get to work and proudly represent Henry County and the state of Illinois.” 

The judges selected Miss Warren County Fair, Marcela Gillen of Monmouth, as first runner-up.  Miss Williamson County Fair, Emily Travis of Belknap, was named second runner-up.  The remaining nine finalists included: Miss Champaign County Fair, Ainsley Reiser of Champaign; Miss Christian County Fair, Alicia Schneider of Morrisonville; Miss Effingham County Fair, Christin Hartke of Effingham; Miss Iroquois County Fair, Patricia Edris of Milford; Miss Macon County Fair, Brittany Childress of Decatur; Miss McHenry County Fair, Mary Ellen Walter of Crystal Lake; Miss Mercer County Fair, Briley Lloyd of Aledo; Miss Moultrie-Douglas Fair, Shelby Greger of Villa Grove; and  Miss Sangamon County Fair Katy Duewer of Waverly.

Non-finalist competition awards were presented to Miss White County Fair, Tailor Frymire from Carmi for interview competition; Miss Greene County Fair, Alexandra Flatt from Carrollton for stage presence competition; Miss Macoupin County Fair, Megan Broom from Carlinville for communication skills competition; and Miss Schuyler County Fair, Mallory Ervin from Rushville took home the award for beauty and physique.

The Ruby Crum Memorial Award for charm and enthusiasm known as the “Spark Plug Award” was presented to Miss Farmer City/DeWitt County Fair, Cecilee Rhea of Farmer City.  

A total of 66 contestants participated in the 52nd annual IAAF pageant.


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us