Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

November 19, 2010

State’s Emergency Management Program Retains National Accreditation
State Lauded for Three “Best Practices”

SPRINGFIELD – Illinois’ emergency management program was recognized recently for three “best practices” as part of a rigorous review by a national accreditation program.  The Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP) notified officials with the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) that Illinois will retain national accreditation after an assessment team determined the state’s program complied with 63 national standards. 

“There is nothing more important than making sure the people of our state are safe,” said IEMA Interim Director Joe Klinger.  “Illinois has seen its fair share of disasters over the years.  It’s critical that our emergency management program is capable of meeting those difficult challenges head-on.”

A team of certified assessors from across the nation conducted a week-long review of Illinois’ program in September.  EMAP assessors found Illinois’ program met all the standards and recommended the state for national “best practices” for its interoperable communications capabilities, implementation of an interagency strategic planning cell and strategic use of federal funding.  The team’s findings were reviewed and approved by the EMAP National Board.

EMAP is an independent non-profit organization that fosters excellence and accountability in emergency management and homeland security programs by establishing credible standards applied in a peer review accreditation program.  EMAP accreditation is a voluntary process for state and local emergency management programs.  Illinois is currently one of 25 states in the U.S. that are EMAP accredited. 

In order to receive EMAP accreditation and re-accreditation, states are required to demonstrate 100 percent compliance with 63 standards.  The standards cover 16 key program areas, including planning, incident management, hazard mitigation, mutual aid, communications, public information and more.
Illinois was just the sixth state in the nation to receive EMAP accreditation in 2006.  For more information about Illinois’ emergency management program, visit IEMA’s website at www.iema.illinois.gov.


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us