Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

August 19, 2010

Governor Quinn Announces Federal Disaster Assistance Approved For Seven Counties
Federal Disaster Declaration will Help People, Businesses Affected by July Floods

SPRINGFIELD – August 19, 2010. Governor Pat Quinn today announced that the federal government approved his request for a federal disaster declaration. As a result, flood victims in Carroll, Cook, DuPage, Jo Daviess, Ogle, Stephenson and Winnebago counties are now eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance.

The federal disaster declaration will help people and businesses in the seven counties affected by the July 22-24 flash flooding recover from the disaster by allowing them to apply for grants and loans to assist with storm-related losses.

“This federal declaration is great news for the people who were impacted by last month’s flooding,” said Governor Quinn. “I appreciate President Obama’s quick action on the request I submitted just three days ago. This will help speed needed assistance to the people and businesses in these seven counties.”

Governor Quinn submitted a request for federal disaster assistance to President Obama on Aug. 16. The request was supported by damage assessment documentation that identified nine homes in the seven-county area that were destroyed and 448 that suffered major damage. Thousands of additional homes were also affected by the floods.

The federal disaster declaration makes assistance available to flood victims, including grants to individuals and households to help with temporary housing, home repairs or replacement and other disaster-related expenses, as well as low-interest Small Business Association (SBA) loans to residents and businesses.

“We will begin working immediately with FEMA to ensure flood victims can get needed help as quickly as possible,” said IEMA Interim Director Joe Klinger.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), which administers the assistance program, has a toll-free telephone number (800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for hearing and speech impaired) for victims to apply for assistance. Registration can also be done online at www.disasterassistance.gov.

On July 26, Governor Quinn declared 12 counties state disaster areas to ensure affected communities received needed state assistance to recover from the storms.

Additional information about the state’s storm response efforts is available at www.Ready.Illinois.gov.


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us