Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

May 28, 2009

Illinois Department of Insurance highlights important new young adult dependent health insurance option
Effective June 1st, young adult dependents may be added to parents’ policies

CHICAGO – The Illinois Department of Insurance highlighted the new Young Adult Dependent Coverage Law, effective June 1st, that allows dependent young adults up to age 26—and age 30 for military veterans—to be added to a parent’s health insurance coverage.

“Young adults, working through college or even with steady employment, often lack access to health insurance. This coverage option offers families a fair alternative, ultimately improving the long-term health and financial security of our young adults,” said Michael T. McRaith, Director of the Illinois Department of Insurance.
The new law permits unmarried young adults to remain on or be added to their parents’ health insurance plans up to age 26, or up to age 30 for military veterans.

Health insurance policies and HMO contracts that offer dependent coverage must include unmarried young adults up to age 26, or age 30 for military veterans, and regardless of the young adult’s enrollment in an educational institution.

All policies must offer an initial 90-day enrollment period to eligible dependents. New policies issued after June 1, 2009, must provide the initial 90-day enrollment period immediately upon issuance or delivery. For existing policies, the initial enrollment period will vary depending on the date the policy is issued, amended or renewed.

Pre-existing conditions
For group policies, dependents added during the initial 90-day enrollment, annual enrollment, or special enrollment periods may not be declined coverage due to health status.

For parents seeking to purchase an individual policy, the parent must first meet the insurance company’s underwriting guidelines in order to receive an offer of coverage. If the individual policy provides dependent coverage, eligible dependents must be offered coverage regardless of health status.

More Information
For a detailed fact sheet about the new Young Adult Dependent Coverage Law, visit the Illinois Department of Insurance Web site at www.insurance.illinois.gov or call toll-free at (877) 527-9431.


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us