Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

November 18, 2008

Governor Blagojevich Announces Local Governments in Nine Counties Approved for Federal Assistance for September Flooding
Local governments eligible for reimbursement of some flood-related expenses

SPRINGFIELD – The federal government today approved Governor Rod R. Blagojevich’s request for federal assistance to local governments in nine counties for extraordinary expenses incurred while responding to and recovering from severe flooding that struck the area in mid-September.  The counties approved include Bureau, Cass, Greene, Kendall, Macoupin, Montgomery, Scott, Will and Woodford.


“Dealing with the September flooding put a strain on many already-tight local budgets,” said Governor Blagojevich.  “This federal assistance is welcome relief for communities in these nine counties by allowing them to recoup 75 percent of their flood-related expenses.”


The Governor’s request for federal disaster assistance detailed the extraordinary expenses incurred by local and state government for responding to and recovering from the September flooding.  Preliminary damage assessments conducted by the Illinois Emergency Management Agency and the Federal Emergency Management Agency documented local government flood-related expenses as follows:


  • Bureau             $2,840,131
  • Cass                 $   433,700
  • Greene             $   383,000
  • Kendall            $   547,962
  • Macoupin         $   411,000
  • Montgomery     $   444,000
  • Scott                $   154,700
  • Will                  $1,439,224
  • Woodford        $   199,300


Local government bodies in the approved counties can apply for reimbursement for 75 percent of their extraordinary flood-related expenses for such things as emergency work, debris removal from public roads and repair or replacement of infrastructure and public property. 


Other Illinois counties previously approved for federal assistance to local governments due to mid-September flooding include Cook, DuPage, Grundy and LaSalle counties.  In addition, nine counties were approved for federal assistance to people and businesses affected by the flood event, including Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Grundy, Kane, LaSalle, Peoria, Will and Woodford.


All of the counties approved for federal assistance were previously declared state disaster areas by the Governor.


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us