Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

September 23, 2008

Governor Blagojevich Issues State Disaster Declaration for Bureau, Kendall and Woodford Counties for Flooding
State assets, personnel available to help with recovery

SPRINGFIELD – Three additional Illinois counties were declared state disaster areas Tuesday following severe flooding that closed roads, forced people from their homes and inundated houses and businesses.  Governor Rod R. Blagojevich’s disaster declaration for Bureau, Kendall and Woodford counties makes available state assets and personnel that can help impacted communities recover from flooding caused by heavy rainfall last week. 
“Several communities in Bureau, Kendall and Woodford counties are continuing to deal with flooding caused by exceptionally heavy rains,” said Governor Blagojevich.  “Today I am issuing a state disaster declaration for these counties to ensure that they get the state assistance needed to quickly recover.”
Andrew Velasquez III, director of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency, said personnel from his agency have been working with local officials in Bureau, Kendall and Woodford counties since flooding began to ensure they have the resources needed to deal with the flood and its aftermath.
“With flood waters still up in some areas, it’s difficult to fully evaluate the extent of damage,” Velasquez said.  “We will continue to work with emergency managers in these counties to determine the impact to people, businesses and local governments and how we can help expedite the recovery process.”  Velasquez advises people who experienced flood damage to report it to their local emergency management officials.
On Sept. 15, Governor Blagojevich declared seven counties state disaster areas due to flooding related to the same storm system, including Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Grundy, Kane, LaSalle and Will counties.


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us