Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

June 23, 2008

Gov. Blagojevich announces Flood Recovery Assistance Hotline to help flood victims
1-866-848-2067 will link people affected by floods with state assistance programs

SPRINGFIELD – Gov. Rod R. Blagojevich today announced that the state is setting up a toll-free hotline to provide flood victims with easy access to information and assistance that can help them begin the recovery process.  The Governor said the hotline will link people with state assistance while the state awaits President Bush’s decision on his request for expedited federal disaster assistance.  If granted, federal assistance would offer help with temporary housing and grants or loans to help with flood losses. 
“People who have been forced from their homes by floodwaters need assistance right now,” said Gov. Blagojevich. “Many of our state agencies and offices have information and programs that can help flood victims get on the road to recovery.  The Flood Recovery Assistance Hotline will give them prompt, easy access to these services.  I am pleased that we are providing assistance in a unified manner with other constitutional offices.”
The State Flood Recovery Assistance Hotline will open the morning of Tuesday, June 24 in Springfield and operate daily from 8:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m.  People affected by the flooding can call the center at 1-866-848-2067 (866-214-4479 TTY) for information about available state assistance programs.  The call center will be staffed by employees from state agencies that offer recovery guidance or assistance programs, including the Illinois Emergency Management Agency and the departments of Central Management Services, Agriculture, Aging, Financial and Professional Regulation, Public Health and Human Services, the Offices of the Attorney General and Lt. Governor and the State Treasurer.
To date, Gov. Blagojevich has declared 24 counties state disaster areas due to flooding, including Adams, Calhoun, Clark, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar, Hancock, Henderson, Knox, Jasper, Jersey, Lake, Lawrence, Madison, Mercer, Monroe, Pike, Randolph, Rock Island, St. Clair, Whiteside and Winnebago.


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us