Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

October 1, 2007

Governor Blagojevich announces Disaster Unemployment Assistance for workers affected by flooding in six Northeastern Illinois counties
State continues commitment to helping area residents recover from severe flood

CHICAGO – Governor Rod R. Blagojevich today announced that residents of DeKalb, Grundy, Kane, LaSalle, Lake and Will counties who lost their jobs after severe storms and flash flooding hit the area in August, may be eligible for federal Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA). The assistance is available as part of the federal disaster declaration that was secured by the Governor after the storms.
“The August storms caused a lot of damage and hardship for the residents in Northeastern Illinois. The victims of this disaster have enough to worry about as they try to restore their homes and communities.  They shouldn’t have to worry about how they’re going to buy groceries or pay their bills next month,” said Gov. Blagojevich.  “The federal disaster declaration will help workers affected by the flood put their lives back together.”
On September 14, Gov. Blagojevich sent a letter to President Bush requesting the federal disaster declaration for DeKalb, Grundy, Kane, LaSalle, Lake and Will.  The letter outlined the extent of damage to homes and businesses, emphasizing that this area has suffered two floods and a record snowfall in less than 12 months. 
The federal disaster declaration makes assistance available, including help for individuals and households, which can include cash grants to help with temporary housing, home repairs and replacement and other disaster-related costs.  The President also approved the State’s request for low-interest loans through the SBA, as well as hazard mitigation assistance, which can help fund projects to prevent similar flooding in the future. 
Residents of these counties, who have been unable to work as a result of the storm, should contact their local Illinois Department of Employment Security (IDES) office as soon as possible to determine if they are eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.
Residents of DeKalb County are served by the DeKalb office located at 1701 East Lincoln Highway (RT. 38), Dekalb, IL.60115,
Grundy County is served by the Ottawa office located at 1550 First Ave., South Towne Mall, Ottawa, IL. 61350 - Joliet office located at 250 North Chicago Street, Joliet, IL. 60432 and the Kankakee office located at 255 North Schuyler, Kankakee, IL. 60901
Kane County is served by the Elgin office located at 30 Dupage Court, Elgin, IL. 60120 and the North Aurora office located at 2 Smoke Tree Plaza, North Aurora, IL. 60542
LaSalle County is served by the Ottawa office located at 1550 First Ave., South Towne Mall, Ottawa, IL. 61350.
Lake County is served by the Grayslake office located at 800 Lancer Lane Grayslake, IL. 60030 and the Waukegan office located at 1 N. Genesee, Waukegan, IL. 60085
Will County is served by the Burbank office located at 5608 West 75th Place, Burbank, IL. 60459 – Joliet office located at 250 North Chicago Street, Joliet, IL. 60432 and the Chicago Hts. office located at 1010 Dixie Highway, Chicago Heights, IL. 60411         
Claims for DUA by residents must be filed no later than 30 days from the date of this notice. Applicants for Disaster Unemployment Assistance should bring their Social Security Number and, if possible, pay stubs or any other documentation showing recent earnings and employment.
Maximum benefits under the DUA program are $498 a week for a claimant with a dependent child, $436 for a claimant with a dependent spouse, and $367 a week for an individual claimant. The minimum weekly benefit for DUA claims is $149.
Assessments conducted by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) following the flood showed in Winnebago County nearly 590 single or multi-family homes sustained flood damage, including 12 homes that were destroyed and another 99 homes that received major damage. In Stephenson County, the damage assessment showed that more than 230 homes received flood damage.  No homes were destroyed in the county, but 17 received major damage, with the rest receiving lesser levels of damage.


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us