Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

November 25, 2005

Gov. Blagojevich announces Volunteer Fire Assistance Program grants
52 communities to benefit from assistance to small fire departments

SPRINGFIELD – Governor Rod R. Blagojevich announced today grants totaling $310,000 for rural fire protection districts and fire departments in 52 Illinois communities.  The grants are made possible by the federal Volunteer Fire Assistance (VFA) grant program.
“Hundreds of communities across Illinois depend on volunteer fire departments.  These grants will help volunteer departments purchase better equipment and enhance firefighter training so they’re well-prepared to keep their communities safe,” said Gov. Blagojevich. 
The VFA grant program reimburses 50 percent of the recipient’s cost for providing training and acquiring equipment to assist local firefighters.  Grant recipients must make the initial financial investment for the projects before being reimbursed.  The VFA grant program is funded through the U.S. Forest Service grant program, which is administered in Illinois by the Department of Natural Resources.
“The new equipment or training that these grants help provide to local fire departments will enable them to do an even better job in fighting fires and safeguarding property in communities throughout the state,” said IDNR Director Joel Brunsvold.
The list of fire departments receiving grants is below. 
Volunteer Fire Assistance Grants - Fall 2005
  1. Amboy Fire Protection District, Amboy, Lee County, $9,500 (Contact: Frank Stenzel, 815-857-2325)
  1. Bath Fire Prot. Dist., Bath, Mason County, $3,960 (Contact: Gary Atherton, Chief, 309-546-2424)
  1. Bracevillle Vol. Fire Dept., Braceville, Grundy County, $4,125 (Contact: Patrick H. Shelton, 815-237-8682)
  1. Brown County Fire Prot. Dist., Mt. Sterling, Brown County, $6,000 (Contact: Chief Brian Gallaher, 217-773-2113)
  1. Buffalo Fire Prot. Dist., Buffalo, Sangamon County, $2,485  (Contact: Mike Thompson, 217-364-4441)
  1. Buncombe Vol. Fire Dept., Buncombe, Johnson County, $2,097 (Contact: Richard "Dale" Davis, 618-658-9226)
  1. Carlinville Fire Dept., Carlinville, Macoupin County, $5,790 (Contact: Bill Healy, 217-854-2813)
  1. Carthage Clipper Fire Dept., Carthage, Hancock County, $5,000 (Contact: Scott Carle, 217-357-2110)
  1. Chester Fire Dept., Chester, Randolph County, $5,134 (Contact: Michael Lochhead, 618-826-1516)
  1. Clayton Fire Prot. Dist., Clayton, Adams County, $3,166 (Contact: Sam Miller, 217-894-7142)  
  1. DePue Fire Company #1, DePue, Bureau County, $5,862 (Contact: Steven Rauh, Chief, 815-447-2168)
  1. Dongola Auxiliary Fire Dept., Dongola, Union County, $7,250 (Contact: Patrick Ferguson, Chief, 618-827-8427)
  1. Findlay Fire Prot. Dist., Findlay, Shelby County, $2,730 (Contact: Robert Buck, 217-756-8697)    
  1. Forman Fire Prot. Dist., Manito, Mason County, $9,500 (Contact: Dan Pfanz, Chief, 309-968-6902)
  1. Flora Fire Dept., Flora, Clay County, $9,500 (Contact: Bruce Dickey, 618-662-9496)
  1. Griggsville Fire Dept., Griggsville, Pike County, $4,900 (Contact: Larry Bradshaw, 217-833-2168)
  1. Hecker Fire Prot. Dist., Hecker, Monroe and St. Clair counties, $1,343 (Contact: Ralph Eckart, 618-473-2597)
  1. Hillsboro Fire Dept., Hillsboro, Montgomery County, $9,500 (Contact: Joe Lyerla, Chief, 217-532-2417)
  1. Iuka Fire Prot. Dist., Iuka, Marion County, $6,482 (Contact: Leon Duis, 618-323-6330)
  1. Keyesport Fire Prot. Dist., Keyesport, Bond County, $9,500 (Contact: Thomas R. Hoffman, 618-749-5591)
  1. Lake Egypt Fire Dept, Marion, Williamson County, $5,696  (Contact: Kirby S Crites, Chief, 618-964-1278) 
  1. Lawrence/Allison Fire Prot. Dist., Lawrenceville, Lawrence County, $2,991 (Contact: Charles Potts, 618-943-2828)
  1. LeRoy Fire Prot. Dist., LeRoy, Mc Lean County, $6,592 (Contact: Chief Ed Underhill, 309-962-7401)
  1. Lima/Tioga Fire, Lima, Adams County, $1,166 (Contact: Keith Fuller, Chief, 217-985-5190)
  1. Madison Fire Dept, Madison, Madison County, $8,602 (Contact: Jeffery Bridick, 618-876-6268)
  1. Maeystown Fire Prot. Dist., Maeystown, Monroe County, $2,390 (Contact: Lynden Prange, 618-458-6611)
  1. Makanda Twp. Fire Dept., Carbondale, Jackson County, $2,910 (Contact: Ronald Horther, Chief, 618-549-0213)
  1. Manteno Comm. Fire Prot. Dist., Manteno, Kankakee County, $4,154 (Contact: Maurice O'Keefe, 815-468-6619)
  1. Massac Co. Fire Prot., Metropolis, Massac County, $9,500 (Contact: Mike Childers, 618-524-3200)
  1. McLeansboro Fire Dept, McLeansboro, Hamilton County, $7,500 (Contact: Leroy Browning,, 618-643-2723)
  1. Mid-Piatt Fire Prot. Dist., Monticello Piatt County, $9,500 (Contact: Bill Olson, 217-762-7927)   
  1. Mt. Sterling Fire Dept., Mt. Sterling, Brown County, $5,500 (Contact: Brian Gallaher, Chief, 217-773-2113)
  1. Neoga Fire Protection , Neoga, Cumberland County, $9,500 (Contact: John Carruthers, 217-895-3911)
  1. New Athens Fire Prot. Dist., New Athens, St. Clair County, $9,447 (Contact: David Owens, 618-475-2113)
  1. Northern Piatt County Fire Prot. Dist., Mansfield, Piatt County, $5,888 (Contact: Todd W. Jones, Chief, 217-489-3021)
  1. Oakford Fire Prot. Dist., Oakford, Menard County, $2,508 (Contact: John Bochm, Chief, 217-635-5768)
  1. Ohio Fire Prot. Dist, Ohio, Bureau and Lee counties, $8,679 (Contact: Keith Ackerman, Chief, 815-376-4012)
  1. Palmyra Fire Dept., Palmyra, Macoupin County, $9,500 (Contact: Raymond Rich, Chief , 217-436-2521)
  1. Pinckneyville Rural Fire Prot. Dist., Pinckneyville, Perry County, $9,500 (Contact: Jerry Smith, Chief, 618-357-2281)
  1. Pittsfield Fire Dept., Pittsfield, Pike County, $6,229 (Contact: Mike Braungardt, 217-285-6423)
  1. Prairie du Rocher Comm. Fire Dept., Prairie du Rocher, Randolph County, $2,400 (Contact: Randall A. Braun, 618-284-7141)
  1. Princeton Rural Fire Prot. Dist., Princeton, Bureau County, $6,796 (Contact: Gary Hanna, 815-875-1861)
  1. Rural Pope Fire Prot. Dist., Goloconda, Pope County, $7,952 (Contact: Vincent Baker, 618-683-9525)   
  1. Sesser Fire Prot. Dist., Sesser, Franklin County, $2,866 (Contact: Cletus McBride, 618-625-2441)
  1. Shawneetown Fire Dept., Shawneetown, Gallatin County, $5,000 (Contact: Terry Golden, 618-269-4203)
  1. Sheridan Comm. Fire Prot. Dist., Sheridan, La Salle County, $9,500 (Contact: Kurt Tirevold, Chief, 815-496-2296)
  1. Smithboro Fire Prot. Dist., Smithboro, Bond County, $2,941 (Contact: Dale R. Deverick, Chief, 618-664-2697)
  1. Steeleville Fire Dept., Steeleville, Randolph County, $4,330 (Contact: Bill Fryer, Chief, 618-965-9251)
  1. Vienna Fire Dept., Vienna, Johnson County, $2,963 (Contact: Robert Hook, 618-658-5161)
  1. Waverly Volunteer Fire Dept., Waverly, Morgan County, $9,500 (Contact: Jim Watts, 217-435-2041)
  1. Williamson County Fire Prot. Dist., Herrin, Williamson County, $4,550 (Contact: Don Swiatkowski,Chief, 618-997-4802)
  1. Winchester Vol. Fire Dept., Winchester, Scott County, $9,500 (Contact: Albert Short, 217-742-3191)


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us