Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

April 24, 2001

Governor Adds Two Counties to Disaster Declaration

NIOTA -- Governor George H. Ryan today visited the community of Niota to witness firsthand the conditions of the Mississippi River and its effects on the community.

Since the Great Flood of 1993, flood mitigation efforts have resulted in more than 3,000 properties in Illinois being purchased to eliminate future flood losses. Once structures are purchased, these areas are restricted from any rebuilding and are turned into green areas. In Niota, approximately 50% of the homes have been purchased, which will reduce the number of structures potentially impacted by flooding.

After touring Niota, the Governor announced he was declaring Calhoun and Pike counties disaster areas, bringing the total to 10 counties that have been declared disaster areas. The addition of these two counties enables the State to provide assistance to communities on the Mississippi River with preventative flood fighting efforts.

"By adding these counties to the disaster declaration, they will be able to take the same preventative measures taken last week by counties to their north," Ryan said. "This approach is designed to assist in minimizing flood damage and to prevent any impact on public health and safety to the citizens in these communities.

"The State will pre-position resources and equipment to assist in safeguarding homes, businesses and infrastructure."

The Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) is continuing to coordinate state resources to support local governments in their flood fighting efforts. The IEMA State Emergency Operations Center (SEOC) continues to be fully staffed and operational every day.

Assistance is being provided by the Illinois Department of Transportation, Illinois Department of Corrections, Department of Public Health, Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Illinois Department of Central Management Services, Illinois Environmental Protection Agency, Illinois State Police, Department of Military Affairs, Office of the State Fire Marshal, Illinois Department of Agriculture, Illinois Commerce Commission, and the American Red Cross.


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us