Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

September 13, 2000

Governor's Illinois Economic Development Board Plans for New Economy

CHICAGO -- Governor George H. Ryan today met with top business and government leaders to get their advice on how to continue preparing Illinois for the New Economy.

Under Ryan's new economic development policies, including the EDGE tax credit and the Prime Sites program, the state has successfully secured $4.4 billion in new private investment, creating more than 17,400 new jobs and retaining at least 8,100 jobs.

"If we want these good times to continue, we must have a clear plan for continued economic growth," Ryan said. "It is critical that we consult with the state's top business executives, as well as our state and local leaders, to make sure our strategy for success is on track."

Senate Bill 40, the "Jobs Through Economic Competitiveness Act," which Ryan signed into law last year, established the CEO-level advisory Board to help the Administration devise and implement the State's economic development strategic plan.

"I want to thank the members of the Economic Development Board for committing their time and expertise to this important mission" Ryan added.

The primary role of the Illinois Economic Development Board is to advise the Governor and his administration on issues affecting economic development in Illinois and to help implement the Illinois Department of Commerce and Community Affairs' five year economic development strategy.

"For too long, Illinois has been without a blueprint for prosperity," said DCCA Director Pam McDonough. Because of Governor Ryan's leadership, the state now has the tools it needs to compete in the New Economy."

"Our goal is clear," Ryan said. "We want Illinois to not only compete but also thrive in the economy of the 21st century."

The meeting was the second of the Illinois Economic Development Board. In addition to Ryan, speakers included Pam McDonough and Steve Mitchell, Chair of the Illinois Coalition.

Attached is a list of Illinois Economic Development Board members.


Jack Greenberg,
Chairman & CEO of McDonald's Corporation, Oak Brook

Chris Galvin
Chairman & CEO of Motorola, Inc., Schaumburg

Hans Becherer
Chairman & CEO of John Deere & Co., Moline

Mike Moran
Chairman & President of Spiegel, Downers Grove

John Miller
President of North American Paper Company, Berkeley

Tom Tunney
Owner & CEO of Ann Sather Restaurants, Chicago

Tom Donovan
Chairman & CEO of the Chicago Board of Trade, Chicago

Don Fites
Chairman & CEO of Caterpillar, Inc., Peoria

Christine Roche
President of Acme Screw Company, Wheaton

John LaSage
Chairman of Chicago Midwest Region, Burson-Marsteller, Chicago

Ross Glickman
CEO of Irvine Investments, Chicago

Lynn Martin
Advisor to Deloitte & Touche, Chicago Former U.S. Secretary of Labor and Congresswoman from Rockford

Courtney Shea
Director of Salomon Smith Barney, Chicago

Diane Cullinan
President of Prudential Cullinan Properties, Ltd., Peoria

Merlin Carlock
President & CEO of Municipal Trust and Savings Bank, Bourbonnais

Jill York
President & CEO of People's National Bank of Fairfield, Fairfield

Cynthia Williams
President & CEO of Williams Family Partnership, Chicago

James Reynolds, Jr.
President & CEO of Loop Capital Markets, LLC, Chicago

Sue Ling Gin
Chairman & CEO of The Flying Food Fare, Chicago

Margarita Perez
CEO of Fortaleza Asset Management, Chicago

Ex-Officio - Margaret Blackshere
President of the AFL-CIO of Illinois, Chicago

Ex-Officio - Dennis Whetstone
President of the Illinois State Chamber of Commerce, Chicago

Ex-Officio - Greg Baise
President of the Illinois Manufacturers' Association, Chicago

Ex-Officio - David Vite
President of the Illinois Retail Merchants Association, Chicago

Ex-Officio - Richard M. Daley
Mayor of Chicago

Ex-Officio - Charles Box
Mayor of Rockford

Ex-Officio - Deborah Powell
Mayor of East St. Louis


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us