Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

May 31, 2000

Illinois FIRST To Provide $468,836 To Landowners To Plug Abandoned Oil and Gas Wells

SPRINGFIELD -- Governor George H. Ryan today awarded $468,836 in Illinois FIRST grants to 38 landowners, allowing them to proceed with the plugging of 124 abandoned oil and gas wells in downstate Illinois.

"Through Illinois FIRST, the state is able to address the significant environmental and safety concerns posed by abandoned oil and gas wells," Ryan said. "Unless they are plugged properly, these so-called 'orphaned' wells can pollute farm land and threaten surface and groundwater supplies."

The Illinois FIRST program is providing up to $10 million to make sure that dangerous wells are properly plugged. The Illinois Department of Natural Resources administers the grant program aimed at plugging more than 5,000 abandoned wells in the state. To date, the landowner grant program has provided nearly $800,000 in grants to plug 248 abandoned wells. Landowners are reimbursed after the wells are plugged and the work is approved by IDNR inspectors. Landowners interested in information on well eligibility and other program details may contact Duane Pulliam, Landowner Grant Program Coordinator, IDNR Office of Mines and Minerals, 524 South Second St., Springfield, IL 62701-1787, phone 217/782-7756.

A list of grant recipients is attached.


Clay County
  wells grant amt.
Glenn Schoonover, Louisville 2 $ 6,500

Clinton County
  wells grant amt.
A.C. Mann, Inc., Centralia 5 $20,728
David Bassen, Hoffman 5 $13,500
Gary W. Siddell, Huey 5 $14,100
John G. Sidell, Huey 5 $13,900

Crawford County
  wells grant amt.
John S. Adams, Robinson 1 $ 4,010
Eulan and Velma Aten, Oblong 5 $12,759
Joe Bliss, Oblong 1 $ 2,230
Larry Chapman, Hutsonville 5 $17,104
Ralph Dart, Oblong 5 $23,780
Guyer Bros., Inc., Annapolis 5 $17,075
Mary K. Guyer. Annapolis 2 $ 6,680
David Fancil, Oblong 1 $ 3,365
Garold Sholders, Oblong 4 $ 9,730
Erma Louise Wood, Robinson 1 $ 3,240

Edwards County
  wells grant amt.
Brian Schroeder, Grayville 4 $15,632

Hamilton County
  wells grant amt.
Darin R. Brown, McLeansboro 2 $ 8,800

Lawrence County
  wells grant amt.
Doris Neal, Lawrenceville 2 $ 6,405
Sharon Stovall, Lawrenceville 3 $11,193

Marion County
  wells grant amt.
Marian Arnold, Iuka 5 $20,445
Elmer Calvert, Iuka 2 $ 6,910
Frank Heinzmann, Co., Patoka 5 $19,055
Carl Matthews, Iuka 2 $ 8,498
Alvin D. Murray, Patoka 5 $19,428

Wayne County
  wells grant amt.
William P. Carson, Cisne 4 $16,000
Jeanne B. Cox, St. Elmo 5 $25,500
Lindell Greenwalt, Cisne 5 $21,000
John Harrington, Cisne 1 $ 4,000
Donald Lewis, Cisne 5 $19,750
Elvyn Locke, Fairfield 5 $19,769
Steven E. Locke, Cisne 1 $ 4,000
Delbert E. Magers, Norris City 3 $14,000
Dale Pittman, Cisne 3 $13,000
Joseph A. Simpson, Mill Shoals 1 $ 3,750
Darrell C. Smith, Fairfield 1 $ 4,000
Eldo Vaughn, Fairfield 3 $15,000
Brad Vaughn, Fairfield 4 $20,000
Bernard Wolfe, Cisne 1 $ 4,000


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us