Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

May 5, 2004

Blagojevich awards four Illinois Department of Corrections front line employees with the Correctional Officer of the Year Award

SPRINGFIELD – Gov. Rod R. Blagojevich today recognized four front line employees of the Illinois Department of Corrections (IDOC) as recipients of the Correctional Officer of the Year Award.  He also commended and thanked all corrections employees for the important work they do in protecting the public from danger. 
Correctional Officer Mac-Shane Frank of Pinckneyville Correctional Center, Youth Supervisor III Anthony McGlothian of Illinois Youth Center – Joliet, Youth Supervisor II Jeffery Taylor of Illinois Youth Center – Warrenville and Correctional Residence Counselor I Ernestine Hemmitt of Jessie “Ma” Houston Adult Transition Center were honored at the agency’s General Headquarters in a ceremony that recognizes excellence in correctional employees and pays tribute to its fallen heroes.
“The front line employees who make our Illinois prison system a model for the rest of the nation are dedicated, skilled and professional public servants who deserve our thanks and praise,” said Blagojevich.  “Their daily sacrifices, commitment and fair treatment of prison inmates afford us to live our lives in the safety and comfort we all enjoy.”
Nominations for this year’s award come from officers recognized at each of IDOC’s 27 state prisons, eight juvenile centers and eight adult transition centers.  This year’s top four front line employees were presented with a $500 check, membership in the American Correctional Association and given the opportunity to address those present for the award.  The nominees are judged on leadership, initiative, professionalism and service to their community and career.
IDOC’s top four front line staff winners:
Correctional Officer Mac-Shane Frank of Pinckneyville Correctional Center joined IDOC in 1998.  Frank is a diversified employee, serving as a movement, tower, escort, infirmary, pod, gym, wing, inner and outer patrol and armory officer.  He demonstrates a high level of initiative, is judicious in carrying out assignments and constantly displays excellent intuitive judgment.  Frank has gained respect with all ranks in the department through his knowledge, leadership, attitude, communications skills and initiative.  As a TACT team member and TACT squad leader, he displays a strong personal commitment to achieve positive results in emergency situations.  Frank earned a bachelor’s degree in psychology and administration of justice from Southern Illinois University-Carbondale.  He was named recipient of the 2002 Robert C. Radtke Leadership Award from the Psychology Department of SIU-C and was granted lifetime membership in Psi Chi, the National Honor Society in Psychology.
Youth Supervisor III Anthony McGlothian of Illinois Youth Center – Joliet began his career with IDOC in 1993.  McGlothian represents the center as an institutional screener for IDOC’s various testing sites.  He assists in the hiring process of applicants once the Application Information List has been released from the Central Screening Unit.  When new hires arrive at the facility, he ensures they are processed in a timely manner and provides them the information needed to begin their new careers.  He also represents the center at various job fairs.  McGlothain volunteers to work overtime past his shift and also works on his days off when needed on short notice.  He exhibits the attitude and professional demeanor that the department requires of security personal.  This attitude and demeanor is what he lives by in his everyday life.
Youth Supervisor II Jeffery Taylor of Illinois Youth Center – Warrenville started his career at IDOC in 1999.  Taylor has worked numerous security posts and shifts.  His professionalism, firmness and sense of duty make him a respected voice in the everyday lives of the female offenders at IYC – Warrenville.  Taylor serves as a cycle training instructor as well as a chemical agent instructor for the institution.  He also serves on the Correctional Officer Screening team for new officer candidates.  Taylor demonstrates an ability to accomplish goals with minimum supervision.  He sets the standards to go to the next hurtle of his career.
Correctional Residence Counselor I Ernestine Hemmitt of Jessie “Ma” Houston Adult Transition Center joined IDOC in 1987 as a correctional officer at Joliet Correctional Center.  She became a CRCI in 2001.  She currently serves as a vehicle/accident and room assignment coordinator at the center.  She was named Employee of the Quarter for October – December 2003.   Hemmitt exemplifies true professionalism.  She accepts and completes assignments on target with a positive attitude.  She is very flexible and is committed to teamwork. 
Facility nominees include Big Muddy River Correctional Center – C.O. Gregory Scott; Centralia Correctional Center - Sgt. Curt Rueter; Danville Correctional Center – C.O. Matthew Morgeson; Decatur Correctional Center –Sgt. Lee Koeing; Dixon Correctional Center – C.O. John Looney;
Dwight Correctional Center – C.O. Gary Smith; East Moline Correctional Center – C.O. Mark DeFauw; Graham Correctional Center – C.O. James Sneddon and C.O. Scott Myers; Hill Correctional Center – C.O. Raul Martinez; Illinois River Correctional Center - C.O. Donald Draper; Jacksonville Correctional Center – C.O. Donald Evans; Lawrence Correctional Center – C.O. Dave Rohr; Lincoln Correctional Center – C.O. John Call;
Logan Correctional Center – C.O. Heath Brummett; Menard Correctional Center – Sgt. Ed Mayo; Pinckneyville Correctional Center – C.O Mac-Shane Frank; Pontiac Correctional Center – C.O. James Barnard; Robinson Correctional Center – C.O. Janet Langley; Shawnee Correctional Center – C.O. Ricky Pearl; Sheridan Correctional Center – C.O. Sgt. Teresa Veasey; Southwestern Illinois Correctional Center – C.O. Jerid Pickford; Stateville Correctional Center – C.O. Sgt. Bernard Gower; Tamms Correctional Center – C.O. Todd Vick; Taylorville Correctional Center – C.O. David Booker; Vandalia Correctional Center – C.O. Greg Smith; Vienna Correctional Center – C.O. Robert Etheridge; Western Illinois Correctional Center –
C.O. Chad Baker; IYC – Chicago; YSII Yolanda Lewicka; IYC – Harrisburg – YSIII Shain Miller; IYC – Joliet – YSIII Anthony McGlothian; IYC – Kewanee – YSII Rich Dana; IYC – Murphysboro – YSII Roger King; IYC – Pere Marquette – YSII Eric Slightom; IYC – St. Charles – YSII Virginia LeSure; IYC – Warrenville – YSII Jeffery Taylor;
West Side ATC – CRCI Donald Brown; Fox Valley ATC – CRCI Dennis Duehning; Decatur ATC – CRCI Rosalind White; Jessie “Ma” Houston ATC – CRCI Ernestine Hemmitt; Peoria ATC – CRCI Sharon Bailey; Crossroads ATC – CRI Maxine Walker; North Lawndale ATC – CRCI Charles Sanders.


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us