Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

May 6, 1999


SPRINGFIELD -- First Lady Lura Lynn Ryan today honored the 25 school children whose essays and artwork were chosen to be included in the Illinois Coal Calendar for the year 2000.

"My congratulations go out to all of the students who participated in this year's Coal Calendar contest. Their contributions are helping promote the state's coal industry, which plays a vital role in producing jobs for many Illinois families," Ryan said.

For the 11th straight year, the Department of Commerce and Community Affairs (DCCA) asked fifth-and sixth-grade students from across Illinois to submit essays and artwork depicting the significance of coal to the state and its relationship to energy and the environment. This year, more than 1,600 students from 100 schools entered the contest.

During an afternoon ceremony at the Executive Mansion in Springfield, the 25 winners -- 12 in the essay division and 13 in the art division -- each received a $50 U.S. Savings bond and a certificate of achievement signed by Governor George H. Ryan.

DCCA Assistant Director Lourdes Ortiz also attended the ceremony and thanked the students for their hard work. "Your hard work is helping our state do its job of promoting an important resource and source of jobs," Ortiz said.

Also participating in the ceremony were John S. Moore, the chief of DCCA's Office of Coal Development and Marketing, and Illinois Coal Association President Taylor Pensoneau.

Copies of the 2000 Coal Calendar will be available this fall. To order a calendar, write to DCCA's Office of Coal Development and Marketing, 325 W. Adams St., Room 300, Springfield, IL 62704-1892; or call 800-252-8955 or 217-785-0310. TDD: 800-526-0844 or 217-785-0211.

Attached is a list of this year's winners.


YEAR 2000 COAL CALENDAR WINNERS (Hometown is listed in bold type)

Lydia BorahDuQuoin Middle SchoolEssay
Suzanne BrindiseBarrington Middle SchoolPoster
Allison CassBureau Valley South Jr. High; WyanetEssay
Sarah DetersTeutopolis Grade SchoolEssay
Rachel EdgerleyPutnam Co. Elementary School; GranvillePoster
Kourtney EllisBrookport ElementaryPoster
Joey ErshbockBeach Elementary; Round Lake BeachEssay
James FoleyLincoln Junior High; NapervillePoster
Eric FragassiGolf Middle School; Morton GroveEssay
Anthony HackerBatavia Middle SchoolEssay
Jennifer HoskinsLincoln Elementary; MurphysboroPoster
Alexander JohnsonSieden Prairie School; MattesonEssay
Kathy KukucWood Dale Jr. High; BensenvillePoster
Tom McDowellStaunton Jr. HighEssay
Brittany PettitWest Elementary; CarlinvillePoster
Natalie RambeauUnity Point School; CarbondalePoster
David ReifWoodland Intermediate; Gages LakeEssay
James RobinsonCarterville Grade School; HerrinPoster
Melody RoweSt. Joseph Grade School; UrbanaEssay
Jerry TaftLaHarpe Jr. HighEssay
Jennie TrueDesoto Grade SchoolEssay
Joe VeileHamilton Middle SchoolPoster
Christopher WilliamsDenning Elementary; West FrankfortPoster
Natalie WilsonEast Side Grade School; HarrisburgPoster
Alyssa WunderlichHadley Elementary; LockportPoster


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us