Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

May 18, 1999


SPRINGFIELD -- Governor George H. Ryan today declared Jo Daviess County a disaster area as a result of a severe weather system that moved through Northwestern Illinois on Sunday, May 16, causing flooding throughout the county.

"We will do everything we can to help the citizens of Jo Daviess County recover from this storm," Ryan said. "This disaster declaration will speed the recovery efforts in these communities and authorize state agencies to assist in clean-up."

The storm dropped more than 10 inches of rain in four hours causing significant damage to local roads and bridges and disrupting public services throughout the county with the East Dubuque area especially hard hit. The disaster declaration will authorize state agencies to assist with clean-up and recovery efforts.

The Illinois Emergency Management Agency and the Illinois Department of Transportation are assisting local officials with repairs and cleanup. The declaration authorizes damage assessments to be conducted to determine if additional assistance is needed.

Illinois Emergency Management Agency Director Mike Chamness and Jo Daviess County Sheriff/ESDA Coordinator Steve Allendorf are encouraging individuals to report damage to the Sheriff/ESDA Coordinator's Office at 815/777-2141. Agricultural damage should be reported to the Jo Daviess County Farm Service Agency at 815/858-2445.


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us