Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

March 4, 1999


SPRINGFIELD -- Gov. George H. Ryan today signed legislation that frees up the first payments from the new School Technology Revolving Loan Program, an initiative that eventually will provide $30 million annually to help schools throughout Illinois meet their technology needs.

This legislation clarifies the state's authority to expend funds under this loan program, enabling the initial distribution of more than $9 million in loans to 77 elementary schools. Senate Bill 22 contains new language that allows public school districts access to the low-interest loans previously allocated by the General Assembly.

"Schools throughout the state are waiting on these funds," said Ryan who signed the bill within hours of receiving it. "I am pleased to sign this legislation and remove the barrier that had prevented schools from improving their technology systems."

"I'm very pleased that the Governor and General Assembly were able to resolve this important issue," said Comptroller Dan Hynes. "The Comptroller's Office is putting a high priority on expediting release of the funds that will allow school districts to make critical computer purchases."

The $30 million is first-year funding for the School Technology Revolving Loan Program. The program sets up a "revolving" loan system that makes certain grade levels eligible for loans on a three-year rotating basis. Kindergarten through fourth grades are eligible in year one (FY 1999) and each third year thereafter. Fifth through eighth grades are eligible in year two (FY 2000) and each third year thereafter. Ninth through twelfth grades are eligible in year three (FY 2001) and each third year thereafter.

The loan program is designed specifically for school technology improvements. Expenditures may include the establishment of local and area wide computer networks; electrical work directly related to technology; hardware necessary for classroom instruction and staff development; or other technology investments directly related to classroom instruction.

The School Technology Loan Program is administered through the Illinois State Board of Education.

Senate Bill 22 was sponsored by Senators Bomke (R-Springfield) and Watson (R-Greenville) in the Senate and Representatives Mike Madigan (D-Chicago), Gary Hannig (D-Litchfield), Julie Curry (D-Mt. Zion), Tom Ryder (R-Jerseyville) and Jerry Mitchell (R-Sterling) in the House.

A list of loan recipients is attached.


School District: County: Amount:
Oak Park Elementary School District #97Cook478,000
Union Ridge School District #86Cook20,000
Dolton School District #149Cook285,100
Lincoln Elementary School District #156Cook89,800
Gen Geo Patton School District #133Cook74,500
Calumet City School District #155Cook118,450
Calument Public School District #132Cook118,000
Ridgeland School District #122Cook189,700
Palos Heights School District #128Cook83,650
Oak Lawn-Hometown School District #123Cook186,000
Midlothian School District #143Cook171,700
Mokena School District #159Will196,450
Queen Bee School District #16DuPage203,000
LaGrange Highlands School District #106Cook94,450
Big Hollow School District #38Lake68,050
Community ConsolidatedSchool District #59Cook573,100
Prospect Heights School District #23Cook165,250
Mount Prospect School District #57Cook174,850
Lake Villa Community Consolidated School District #41Cook243,000
Alden-Hebron School District #19McHenry54,400
Crystal Lake Community Consolidated School DistrictMcHenry684,850
Johnsburg Community Unit School District #12McHenry127,750
Central Community Unit School District #301Kane146,050
Genoa Kingston Community Unit School District #424DeKalb57,800
Kings Consolidated School District #144Ogle36,000
Harlem Consolidated School District #122Winnebago427,750
Sycamore Community Unit School District #427DeKalb120,660
River Bend Community Unit School District #2Whiteside90,000
Westmer Community Unit School District #203Mercer61,600
River Ridge Community Unit School District #210Jo Daviess56,050
Scales Mound Community Unit School District #211Jo Davies40,300
Forrestville Valley Unity School District #221Ogle89,050
Utica Elementary School District #135LaSalle30,000
Spring Valley Elementary District #99Bureau83,650
Sunnybrook School District #171Cook132,400
Chaney-Monge School District #88Will60,550
Plainfield Community Consolidated School District #202Will517,600
Plano Community Unit School District #88Kendall105,100
Richland School District #88AWill46,300
Fairmont School District #89Will59,500
Rockdale School District #84Will47,800
Manhattan School District #114Will92,500
Central Community Unit School District #4Iroquois76,000
El Paso Community Unit School District #375Woodford27,131
Olympia Community Unit School District #16McLean158,350
Lexington Community Unit School District #7McLean15,000
Lostant Community School District #425LaSalle33,400
Deer Creek-Mackinaw CUSD #701Tazewell72,850
Lincoln Elementary School District #27Logan125,000
Elmwood Community Unit School District #322Peoria61,450
Annawan Community Unit School District #226Henry51,100
Princeville Community Unit School District #326Peoria60,000
Griggsville-Perry Community Unit School District #4Pike52,450
Pana Community Unit School District #8Christian108,100
Illiopolis Community Unit School District #12Sangamon40,750
Rochester Community Unit School District #3ASangamon114,700
Cerro Gordo Community Unit School District #100Piatt57,850
Shelbyville Community Unit School District #4Shelby5,000
Thomasboro Community Consolidated School DistrictChampaign48,250
Oakland Community Unit School District #5Coles51,250
Rossville-Alvin Community Unit School District #7Vermilion30,000
Hamilton County Community Unit School District #10Hamilton100,750
Damiansville School District #62Clinton35,650
Grand Prairie Community Consolidated School DistrictJefferson34,000
St. Rose School District 14 & 15Clinton43,900
Triad Community Unit School District #2Madison80,500
Willow Grove School District #46Clinton30,850
Bethalto Community Unit School District #8Madison181,150
Colinsville Community Unit School District #10Madison337,000
High Mount School District #116St. Clair60,550
Whiteside School District #115St. Clair103,600
Nashville Community Consolidated School District #49Washington65,650
Smithton Community Consolidated School District #130St. Clair53,500
Jonesboro Community Consolidated School District #43Union63,100
Anna Community Consolidated School District #37Union52,917
Goreville Community Unit District #1Johnson59,500
Sesser-Valler Community Unit School District #196Franklin50,000


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us