Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

May 21, 2003

Three additional counties hit by severe storms designated federal disaster areas
Blagojevich’s request for assistance granted by President Bush

SPRINGFIELD, ILL.  – Gov. Rod R. Blagojevich today announced that President George W. Bush has granted his request to add Greene, McDonough and Pike counties to a list of Illinois counties hit by recent storms that are eligible for federal disaster assistance.


At the governor’s request, President Bush last week approved federal disaster assistance for 12 Illinois counties hit by storms between May 6 and 11.  The counties previously included in the federal disaster declaration were Adams, Alexander, Brown, Fulton, Hancock, Mason, Massac, Pope, Pulaski, Schuyler, Tazewell and Woodford.


The disaster declaration provides the following assistance:


·        Long-term, low-interest loans from the Small Business Administration for homeowners, renters and business owners.

·        Temporary housing assistance.

·        Grants for homeowners to repair disaster damage not covered by insurance.

·        Grants for uninsured disaster-related expenses.


To apply for assistance, disaster victims in the declared counties should call 1-800-621-3362 or TTD at 1-800-462-7585.


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us