Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

September 3, 2002

Gov. Announces $489 Million in New School Construction Grants
Illinois FIRST builds 16,000 new classrooms for more than 108,000 Illinois children

CHICAGO - Governor George H. Ryan today announced grant recipients for the first half of a two-year, $1 billion state school construction program for 51 school districts throughout Illinois, continuing the State’s investment in modern and improved facilities for Illinois’ school children.

The Governor made the announcement with Chicago Mayor Richard M. Daley, Chicago Board of Education President Michael Scott and Chicago Public Schools CEO Arne Duncan. The Chicago Public Schools will receive almost $98 million or 20 percent of the total school construction grant funds.

“Kids can't learn when they are busy dodging leaks in their classrooms or when they are working in cramped spaces.” Governor Ryan said. “During my administration, the state’s school construction program has helped build more than 300 new schools and 16,000 new classrooms,”

These school construction grants, coupled with required local matching dollars, will fund construction of 31 new schools; additions or renovations at 114 other out-dated school buildings; nearly 2,300 new classrooms; and educational opportunities for more than 66,550 Illinois children.

Governor Ryan announced the $489 million in grants today during visits to the National Teacher’s Academy in Chicago and Thornton Fractional South High School in Lansing. Tomorrow, Ryan will announce school construction grants in Alton, Hutsonville, Decatur and Farmington.

The school construction grant program is funded through Governor Ryan’s Illinois FIRST program and helps local school districts relieve overcrowded classrooms and replace old and deteriorating facilities. To date, nearly $2.7 billion in state funds have been awarded to school districts throughout the state through the School Construction Program, which is jointly administered by the Illinois Capital Development Board and the Illinois State Board of Education.

”During my administration, we have contributed nearly $1.5 billion in new money to education by dedicating 51 percent in new revenue to schools and job training,” Governor Ryan said. “We have also helped hire more than 10,000 new teachers to work with kids in classrooms all over the state, but one of the most important things we have done is to help build and repair schools.”

The school construction program, authorized by the General Assembly in late 1997, is the first state building program to assist local school construction in more than two decades. So far totaling more than $5.5 billion in state and local matching funds, it is one of the largest such programs in the country.

Under the program administered by the Capital Development Board, local school districts must receive a project entitlement and secure the required local share of construction funds before receiving any state grant funds. The grants range from 35 to 75 percent of eligible construction costs. Enhancements such as swimming pools, gymnasiums and auditoriums are not considered eligible project costs and are excluded from all grant calculations.

Currently, only those projects that address emergency needs, crowded classrooms and old buildings are being funded.

Below is a complete list of new grant recipients.

County School District State Share Local Share
Cass A-C Central Community Unit School District 262 $1,586,017 $1,306,483
Christian Morrisonville Community Unit School District 1 $1,440,631 $2,001,018
Cook Chicago Public School District 299 $97,771,649 $181,575,920
Cook Chicago Ridge School District 127.5 $6,023,282 $3,962,282
Cook Cicero Public School District 99 $14,770,122 $4,923,374
Cook Country Club Hills School District 160 $3,124,052 $1,041,350
Cook Dolton School District 148 $9,300,500 $3,100,167
Cook Edmund F. Lindop School District 92 $4,935,925 $5,538,697
Cook Evanston School District 65 $4,252,159 $7,896,867
Cook Evergreen Park Elementary School District 124 $1,468,448 $1,313,362
Cook Forest Park School District 91 $1,413,268 $2,503,337
Cook Indian Springs School District 109 $1,350,595 $767,457
Cook Lemont-Bromberek Combined School District 113A $5,007,576 $6,913,379
Cook North Palos Elementary School District 117 $256,394 $423,511
Cook Park Forest-Chicago Heights District 163 $2,745,272 $915,091
Cook South Berwyn School District 100 $13,432,838 $6,775,519
Cook Thornton Fractional Township High School District 215 $19,003,110 $14,954,907
Cook Township High School District 211 $4,157,945 $7,721,899
Cook Township High School District 214 $20,605,815 $38,267,945
Crawford Hutsonville Community Unit School District 1 $4,284,253 $1,893,244
Douglas Arcola Community Unit School District 306 $2,453,094 $3,856,483
DuPage Indian Prairie School District 204 $21,949,424 $37,075,581
DuPage Lake Park High School District 108 $7,904,961 $14,680,641
Edgar Edgar County Community Unit School District 6 $260,413 $306,087
Kane Aurora West Unit School District 129 $11,292,791 $15,554,026
Kane Community Unit School District 300 (Carpentersville) $15,443,484 $25,483,152
Kane Kaneland Community Unit School District 302 $12,252,454 $22,754,557
Kane School District U-46 $1,244,764 $1,254,963
Kane St. Charles Community Unit School District 303 $10,793,183 $20,044,484
Kankakee Bradley Bourbonnais Comm. High School District 307 $638,543 $457,125
Lake Barrington Community Unit School District 220 $5,265,524 $9,778,830
Lake Lake Villa Community Consolidated School District 41 $5,994,011 $4,593,346
Lake Round Lake Area Schools, District 116 $763,328 $674,493
LaSalle Streator Township High School District 40 $19,737,965 $6,579,322
LaSalle Streator Elementary District 44 $6,662,322 $2,220,774
Lee Amboy Community Unit School District 272 $1,154,514 $1,089,239
Macon Decatur School District 61 $16,956,982 $8,585,134
Macoupin Girard Community Unit School District 3 $3,276,342 $1,343,195
Madison Alton Community Unit School District 11 $23,186,217 $26,815,406
McHenry Community High School District 155, Crystal Lake $5,224,655 $7,101,918
McLean LeRoy Community Unit School District 2 $2,956,500 $5,068,177
Menard Athens Community Unit School District 213 $4,473,324 $3,050,659
Peoria Farmington Central Community Unit School District 265 $16,795,074 $14,515,703
Piatt Monticello Community Unit School District 25 $7,682,730 $9,590,387
Pulaski Century Community Unit School District 100 $4,798,877 $1,599,626
Sangamon Springfield School District 186 $12,482,102 $20,000,000
St. Clair O'Fallon Community Consolidated School District 90 $8,697,165 $3,816,400
Will Joliet Township High School District 204 $10,974,483 $14,565,270
Will Valley View Community Unit School District 365-U $23,570,365 $42,640,309
Williamson Crab Orchard Community Unit School District 3 $4,709,098 $1,649,264
Woodford Eureka Community Unit School District 140 $2,333,704 $2,092,181
TOTALS $488,858,244 $622,632,541


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us