Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

May 30, 2002

Governor Ryan Announces 38 Additional Counties Declared Disaster Areas

SPRINGFIELD -- Governor George H. Ryan announced today that 38 additional counties have been added to the Federal Disaster Declaration President Bush issued earlier this month. These counties sustained damage from the recent storms, tornadoes and flooding in Illinois. Governor Ryan requested these 38 counties be added based on a review of damage assessments gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials.

The newly declared counties include Adams, Bond, Brown, Calhoun, Cass, Champaign, Christian, Clark, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, DeWitt, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Iroquois, Jersey, Lawrence, Logan, Macon, Macoupin, Mason, McDonough, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Piatt, Pike, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Vermilion and Wabash.

These counties were added for Individual Assistance under the major disaster declaration issued by President Bush on May 21. Assistance will be made available to homeowners, renters and businesses to help them recover from the severe weather system that began on April 21. This new designation brings the total number of Illinois counties eligible to apply for Individual Assistance to 68.

“I appreciate the federal government acting quickly to approve these counties for federal assistance,” Governor Ryan said. “This assistance will allow individuals and business owners an opportunity to begin rebuilding and repairing their damaged property.”

Affected residents and business owners may apply for assistance by calling the toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-3362, between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m. seven days a week until further notice. A wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs that are available include funding for temporary housing, U.S. Small Business (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property, disaster unemployment assistance, and grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

When calling to make application, it is recommended that callers have their current phone number, address where the damage occurred, social security number, a general list of damages and losses suffered, directions to the property, insurance policy number and insurance company or agent’s name.


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us