Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

April 30, 2002

Governor Adds Franklin and St. Clair Counties as State Disaster Areas

SPRINGFIELD -- Governor George H. Ryan today announced that Franklin and St. Clair counties are being added as disaster areas in the aftermath of the tornadoes and severe thunderstorms that moved through southern Illinois on Sunday, April 28. After surveying the areas, it has been determined that damage occurred to homes, businesses, farms, and local roads in the communities of Sesser in Franklin County and Belleville, Swansea and Shiloh in St. Clair County. Initial reports indicate that this severe weather system destroyed 7 homes and caused major damage to 47 homes and other properties in the 2 counties.

“I am adding Franklin and St. Clair counties to the list of state disaster areas to help the victims and units of local government in their response and recovery efforts,” Governor Ryan said. “I am directing all appropriate state agencies to respond by providing assistance with clean-up efforts.”

The Illinois Emergency Management Agency is coordinating the state’s response in the impacted communities. Assistance is being provided by the Illinois State Police, Illinois Department of Corrections, Illinois Department of Transportation, Illinois Environmental Protection Agency and the American Red Cross.

This declaration also makes it possible for damage assessments to be conducted to determine if additional assistance is necessary.


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us