Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

January 23, 2014

Deadline for Federal Tornado Aid Applications Extended to Feb. 3
To date, more than $16 million in grants, loans approved for tornado survivors

SPRINGFIELD – The deadline to apply for federal disaster aid for people affected by the Nov. 17 tornadoes and severe storms has been extended to Feb. 3.  The state requested the extension Wednesday to enable people affected by tornadoes in 15 federally designated counties to seek grants and loans to help with their recovery.  The original registration deadline was Jan. 27.

“I appreciate the Obama Administration’s quick action on our request to extend the deadline,” Governor Pat Quinn said. “Given the unusually difficult winter weather we’ve experienced during the registration period, as well as several federal holidays, this seven-day extension is needed to ensure residents have ample opportunity to apply for federal aid.”

To date, more than 2,400 applications for disaster aid have been received from people in the 15 federally declared counties.  More than $2.3 million in federal grants has been awarded to help people with disaster-related expenses.  In addition, the U.S. Small Business Administration has approved $14.2 million in disaster assistance loans to help people and businesses recover.

Governor Quinn successfully secured federal aid for 15 counties just nine days after an Illinois November record of 25 tornadoes caused widespread destruction across the state.  The federal disaster declaration includes Champaign, Douglas, Fayette, Grundy, Jasper, LaSalle, Massac, Pope, Tazewell, Vermilion, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, Will and Woodford counties.

Registration for disaster aid can be completed online at www.disasterassistance.gov, via web-enabled phone or tablet at m.fema.gov, or by phone at 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585).

Earlier this month, FEMA denied the state’s request for federal assistance that would provide reimbursement to affected local governments in nine counties for their disaster-related expenses.  The Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) currently is working with local officials in those counties to compile additional information for an appeal.  The state has until Feb. 8 to submit that appeal.



News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us