Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

October 28, 2013

Governor Quinn Announces Illinois Students to be Honored by Lincoln Academy November 2
Ceremony at Old State Capitol Recognizes the Top Student from Each College and University in Illinois

SPRINGFIELD – Governor Pat Quinn today announced the names of the state’s outstanding college students who will be honored by the Lincoln Academy of Illinois. The Academy will recognize the students during the annual Student Laureate Convocation at 11 a.m. Saturday, Nov. 2 at the Old State Capitol State Historic Site in Springfield.

“These students have exhibited a personal commitment to excel as seen by their remarkable academic accomplishments,” Governor Quinn said. “They serve as role models to all Illinois students. With hard-working and dedicated young leaders such as these, Illinois and the rest of the nation can look forward to a bright future.”

The Lincoln Academy’s Student Laureate Awards are presented for excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities to seniors from each of the state’s four-year, degree-granting colleges and universities, and one student from among all the community colleges in Illinois. At the Student Laureate Convocation, each will receive a Student Laureate Medallion, along with a $1,000 educational grant and a certificate of achievement. This event will mark the 39th year that students have been honored by the Academy.

Student Laureate Caelin Niehoff of DePaul University will speak on behalf of all the Laureates. The invocation will be delivered by Robert A. Easter, Ph.D., President of the University of Illinois and the benediction will be delivered by The Reverend Stanley Davis, Jr. The Sangamon Woodwind Consort will provide music, and a luncheon at the Illinois Executive Mansion will follow the Student Laureate Convocation.

The Lincoln Academy, unique among the 50 states, was established 49 years ago to honor Illinois’ most distinguished citizens with the state’s highest award, the Order of Lincoln. The 50th Annual Convocation and Investiture of Laureates of The Lincoln Academy of Illinois will take place Saturday, May 3, 2014 at the Field Museum in Chicago.


School Student Home Town
Augustana College Jenna N. Orabutt Hawthorn Woods, IL
Aurora University Andrew J. Patton Oswego, IL
Benedictine University Eman Sahloul Orland Park, IL
Blackburn College Ashley Donoho  
Bradley University Jonathan Teich Bay City, MI
Chicago State University Christopher D. Muldrow Oak Forest, IL
Columbia College – Chicago Allison C. Shuman Cranston, RI
Concordia University Chicago David J. Moldenhauer Walled Lake, MI
DePaul University Caelin Niehoff Algonquin, IL
Dominican University David C. Gayes Oak Park, IL
Eastern Illinois University Zachary D. Samples Decatur, IL
Elmhurst College Emily A. Darow Palatine, IL
Eureka College Lauren M. Schwanke Eureka, IL
Governors State University Ricca Louissaint South Holland, IL
Greenville College Alyssa R. Gosselin Derby, VT
Illinois College Phuong Hoang Nguyen Thai Binh, Vietnam
Illinois Institute of Technology Miriam R. Schmid Cissna Park, IL
Illinois State University Brian M. Kulaga Elmhurst, IL
Illinois Wesleyan University Josefina Banales Chicago, IL
Judson University Cassandra E. Criminger Flanagan, IL
Knox College Carolyn Stephen St. Louis, MO
Lake Forest College Anali N. Vargas Chicago, IL
Lake Land College Kolten A. Postin Moweaqua, IL
Lewis University Samantha J. Rinehart Marion, IA
Lincoln College Josh A. Jones Joliet, IL
Loyola University Chicago Thomas J. Serena Shorewood, IL
MacMurray College Katherine L. Schmidt Jerseyville, IL
McKendree University Anthony J. Rhoads Litchfield, IL
Millikin University Emily E. D’Ambrose Naperville, IL
Monmouth College William T. Terrill Sugar Grove, IL
National Louis University Kristine Becker-Kristufek Mt. Prospect, IL
North Central College Colin J. Loeffler Sun Prairie, WI
North Park University An Tran Hanoi, Vietnam
Northeastern Illinois University Ashor O. Jajou Morton Grove, IL
Northern Illinois University Sarah L. Stuebing DeKalb, IL
Olivet Nazarene University Breanne M. Bambrick Washington, IL
Principia College Haley O. Morton Wildwood, MO
Quincy University Samantha A. Nielsen Arlington Heights, IL
Rockford University Dunja Cosic Rockford, IL
Roosevelt University Erin McCaslin Maple Valley, WA
St. Xavier University Lauren Bryk Rolling Meadows, IL
Southern IL Univ. Carbondale Eileen N. Schweiss Festus, MO
Southern IL Univ. Edwardsville Christopher J. Branch Edwardsville, IL
The University of Chicago Safiya C. Johnson Chicago, IL
Trinity Christian College Megan L. Anderson Elgin, IL
Trinity International University Rebekah E. Held Hartford, WI
University of IL at Chicago Fransely Robles Chicago, IL
University of IL at Springfield Joshua Eastby Edwardsville, IL
Univ. of IL at Urbana-Champaign Amanda M. Rowland Burr Ridge, IL
University of St. Francis Brandon S. Collofello Minooka, IL
VanderCook College of Music Maxwell J. Dykla Belding, MI
Western Illinois University Lindsey M. Posmanick Troy, IL
Wheaton College Sarah R. Vander Vorst Mound City, SD


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us