Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

June 17, 2013

Candidates For Illinois Commodity Board Elections Announced

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. – The Illinois Department of Agriculture today announced the candidates for three state commodity boards.  
Producers will vote July 2 to select members of the Illinois Corn Marketing Board, the Illinois Soybean Program Operating Board and the Sheep and Wool Marketing Board.

“Commodity boards decide which industry promotions and research projects get funded with state checkoff dollars,” Agriculture Director Bob Flider said.  “I encourage producers who’d like a voice in these important decisions to go to the polls and cast a ballot.” 

Checkoff dollars come from assessments levied at the first point of sale. State law sets the assessment for corn at 5/8 of 1 cent per bushel, the assessment for soybeans at 1/2 of 1 percent of market value and the assessment for sheep and wool at 2 1/2 cents per pound.

Anyone who produces and markets the commodity that a particular board represents is eligible to vote.  Ballots may be cast at county Cooperative Extension Offices during regular operating hours.

Producers who cannot make it to the polls election day are eligible to vote absentee.  Absentee ballots can be obtained from the Illinois Department of Agriculture and must be returned to the department no later than June 27.

Write-in candidates are permitted for all three boards.  However, those running as write-ins for the corn and soybean boards must file a “Declaration of Intent” with the Director of Agriculture by 5 p.m., June 25, to be eligible for election.  The form is available by contacting the department.

Election results will be announced by Aug. 1. Winners will receive three-year terms.  A list of commodity districts holding elections this year, the counties they include and the names and hometowns of the candidates follows:

Illinois Corn Marketing Board
Counties Represented
Henderson, Henry, Knox, Mercer, Rock Island, Warren
Thomas Mueller, Taylor Ridge
Champaign, Ford, Iroquois, Vermilion
Dirk Rice, Philo
(write-in candidate)
Adams, Brown, Hancock, McDonough, Pike, Schuyler
David Niekamp, Coatsburg
(write-in candidate)
Dan Cole, Plainville
(write-in candidate)
Clark, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar, Jasper
Roger Sy, Newman
Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Johnson, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Union, Williamson
James Raben, Shawneetown

Illinois Sheep and Wool Marketing Board
Counties Represented
Fulton, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Knox, McDonough, Mercer, Rock Island, Warren
Larry Bartlett, Prairie City
(write-in candidate)
Christian, DeWitt, Logan, Macon, Mason, McLean, Menard, Montgomery, Moultrie, Sangamon, Shelby
Ray Mohr, Danvers
(write-in candidate)

Illinois Soybean Program Operating Board
Counties Represented
Henderson, Henry, Mercer, Rock Island, Stark, Warren, Whiteside
John Longley, Aledo
Bureau, Grundy, Kendall, LaSalle
Sharon Covert, Tiskilwa
(write-in candidate)
Livingston, McLean, Woodford
Robert Shaffer, El Paso
Adams, Brown, Hancock, McDonough, Schuyler
Dale Asher, Sutter
Clinton, Madison, Monroe, St. Clair
Daryl Cates, Columbia
Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Johnson, Massac, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, Union,
Bill Raben, Ridgway


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us