Bruce Rauner, Governor

State Links Skip to Content Skip to State Links

 Health & Safety
 Family & Home
 About Illinois

Stay Informed

Your Government

Illinois Flag Honors

Inspector General

 IGNN: State/All Press Release

The State of Illinois News page provides access to the Illinois Government News Network and all state press releases.

October 9, 2012

Illinois Terrorism Task Force Awards $416,852 for Local Emergency Radios
Grants Will Help 41 Response Agencies Comply with Federal Narrowband Requirements

SPRINGFIELD – The Illinois Terrorism Task Force (ITTF) announced today that 41 local emergency management agencies will receive a total of $416,852 to help them comply with federal communications requirements.  The grants were recently awarded by the ITTF using federal homeland security funds the state receives from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS).

The funds will be used to replace non-narrowband compliant VHF and UHF public safety base station/repeater radios and mobile radios with comparable narrowband equipment.  The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has mandated all non-federal public safety licensees using 25 kHz radio systems migrate to narrowband 12.5 kHz channels by Dec.31, 2012. 

The move is intended to relieve congestion and result in increased channel availability for public safety VHF/UHF systems.  If public safety agencies do not make the move to narrowband channels they may face a loss of communications capabilities as FCC interference rules will not protect wideband systems from harmful interference. 

The ITTF previously awarded more than $4.2 million in grants to help local response agencies meet the narrowbanding requirements.

“These grants will help local first responder agencies comply with the FCC’s narrowbanding mandate and ensure vital emergency communications capabilities are protected after Dec. 31,” said Jonathon Monken, director of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency and the state’s Homeland Security Advisor. 

Narrowbanding Assistance Grants awarded to accredited emergency management agencies were funded through the Emergency Management Performance Grant (EMPG) program.  The grants require a 50 percent local match because of federal grant rules. 

Local emergency management agencies receiving the grants include:

Counties                     Grant Amount
Bureau                         $    505.00
Christian                      $ 3,123.82
Clark                           $ 7,598.50
Douglas                       $ 3,130.00
Edgar                         $15,088.50
Effingham                   $ 6,655.50
Franklin                       $ 3,300.00
Fulton                          $18,996.18
Hancock                      $ 1,795.00
Hardin                         $     467.50     
Henderson                   $ 3,165.65
Jackson                        $22,950.00
Jefferson                     $ 9,298.00
Jo Daviess                   $11,882.50
Johnson                       $ 4,424.96
Kankakee                    $ 1,794.00
LaSalle                        $     404.00
Madison                      $ 2,697.19
Menard                        $ 5,770.00
Montgomery               $     700.50
Morgan                        $ 4,965.00
Peoria                          $11,956.05
Pope                            $     514.50
Saline                         $ 4,200.00
Shelby                         $11,742.88
St. Clair                       $65,422.55
Stephenson                  $     734.26
Union                         $23,242.43
Williamson                  $     799.99
Winnebago                  $17,495.50
Municipalities            Grant Amount
Carbondale                  $ 1,296.00
Centralia                      $     962.00
Hoffman Estates         $ 3,883.58
Naperville                    $ 6,444.38
Peoria                          $33,654.74
Rockford                     $70,941.00
Tinley Park                  $34,850.50


News Categories

 Governor's Office
 Lt. Governor's Office
 Economic Development
 Flag Honors
 Health/Human Services
 Opportunity Returns

News Resources

 Search the News
 IIS Radio News
 RSS News Feeds
 e-News Subscriptions
 Communications Office
 Privacy Statement


Sign up for an e-news subscription
Copyright © 2017 State of Illinois Site Map | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us